Posted on

This Old Car…

_MG_5981.jpg
This old car ❤ This old car is more than just an old car.
Topsy the 1952 FX Holden 48/215 has been in the family since my pop brought her back in the 50’s.
She’s been around the countryside as pop took her to many dances around the Gunnedah and Narrabri area, she’s even been over to Forster for holidays.
My mother recalls one Easter where pop took her and my uncle over to Bendemeer for the day in Topsy where they had chocolate eggs by the beautiful river there.
As a child I remember her sitting up in the back shed at nan and pops in pieces then finally in my 20’s my uncle restored her to her former glory. She is a hard old thing to drive with no power steering and column shift gear stick!I once drove her around Boggabri.
Topsy has seen two weddings in her time, she was a wedding car when nan and pop were married back in 1961 and when Jade and I got married in April 2016.
I had always wanted her as my wedding car as I love her so much.
_MG_5722
Unfortunately pop passed away back in 2013 when I was in Europe, thankfully we got to say my goodbyes the week before we left.
Having Topsy at the wedding was my way of having pop there and I was so glad she didn’t miss a beat coming over the Moonbi’s. (For those who don’t know the Moonbi’s are rather steep hills between Tamworth and Armidale, but so beautiful!)

I am sure pop wanted to be there for the wedding.
This old car is more than an old car, she is family and will be family for many more years to come.
Photos by the amazing Anna at http://www.annatennephotography.com
(Check out the best of weddings there’s quite a few from our wedding!)
_MG_5682_MG_5968 (1)

_MG_5971_MG_5999_MG_6818

Leave a comment